Skip to content
October 7, 2012 / Amy Bradney-George

My Sister’s Shakespearean Gift

All the world may be a stage
But we are more than players:
With the right tools we can leave the cage
Of Fate behind, add layers
To our stories and create
New scenes to explore.

Not all that will be is Divine Will’s work
But all our will is divine
And works towards our dreams.
The words and acts combine
To stitch out new seams
And write new lines
Thus we can be what we believe.

But there are times when we may doubt
When the words we say
Are more like script
Then comes someone who has faith
That we can change what’s writ.

Sometimes timing is the key,
In other moments words or acts
Are what may be
Enough to dress the show.
But above all else: being is enough!
And it is what friends and family
Will always remind us of –
Because that is the beauty of love.

Today I got a package in the mail from two of my good friends in Brisbane. They have just been to Canada and seen my sister, who gave them a present for me.

Shakespeare Magnetic Poetry Kit: Provideth thy steely surfaces with Elizabethan rime.

It’s a box of Shakespeare-inspired magnets from Magnetic Poetry, and it couldn’t have come at a more perfect time because I have a lot going on this week as both an actor and a writer. I need all the support I can get, and this present seems like a sign I have it.

I was so inspired that I sat down and wrote the following poem as a way to say thank you to my sister and our friends.

Leave a Reply

