Skip to content
December 3, 2007 / Amy Bradney-George

Slightly psychic sites?

I’ve been tracking the developments of the election for the local area where I grew up (Cowper electorate) on the ABC election guide for a week or so now. And it always seems to be updated a few minutes before I check it. The first few times I thought this was simple coincidence, now I’m not so sure. I’ve been running experiments with the site and I’ve come to the conclusion that it must be a slightly psychic web page which can predict when I will be checking it and updates accordingly (and it most definitely wouldn’t have anything to do with some kind of automated update system I can’t conceive of).

Now if only the results could be in tune with my hopes. I suppose the results don’t directly impact on me, but I have more than a simple investment in the area (more an unhealthy attachment, like a vine that’s outstayed its welcome) and I want someone who considers what’s best for the people, and makes sure that is at the forefront of their mind when they make decisions. It looks finalised, but I’m glad it has been so close, it means the electorate will be (hopefully) appreciated more. And the person elected can learn from their close victory to figure out what the community wants. Unfortunately I don’t think any slightly psychic powers will help in this area. But I’ll keep a close eye on developments.

And now I am on a mission to find other sites with slightly psychic abilities. The only luck I’ve had there is with User Generated Content pages at news sites, where I sometimes notice grammar and spelling mistakes and then visit later on only to find those mistakes gone. That’s definitely psychic abilities and clearly has nothing to do with me commenting on such mistakes for the site’s benefit. Magic stuff. Next thing you know scientists will be researching slightly psychic sites. Although for the purposes of diminishing the tongue twister value, they may want to call it something like “intuitive internet technology”, which really isn’t much better but sounds a bit more sciencey, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

