Skip to content
November 6, 2007 / Amy Bradney-George

Reading, Writing, Watching

Time is speeding away from me like cars on the highway at holiday time. I don’t mind, but at the same time I do. I feel like things are slipping by me without getting my full attention, and I don’t like that idea.

I’ve started reading Stephen King’s Lisey’s Story, upon Sister Dear’s suggestion to do so. I’m not very far into it, but I like it so far. A lot of the King books I’ve read are not done from a female perspective (the only one which I can think of that uses an exclusively female voice is The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon). While things like male or female perspective rarely bother me, it’s interesting to see how they might differ for writers. A few writers I’m familiar with go very cliché when they write from a certain gender perspective. Stephen King does not (at least not from my reading so far).

Today has been spent reading, writing up my last assignment and watching Boston Legal with Sister Dear. We’re watching Season 3 at the moment, and I have to say it has been my favourite so far. The characters are good (some of the new ones great), the stories are excellent and the morality behind them highly entertaining. And, I must admit I do enjoy figuring out what angles they might take for their court cases (as I say to some friends “I like it ’cause I know a bit about the law”, and never mind that I’ve only studied Australian law in depth, and only in relation to the media at that!).

Otherwise, things are as they should be.

Leave a Reply

