Skip to content
October 11, 2007 / Amy Bradney-George

Thursday

I don’t like to be avoided. I don’t like it when people think they are being subtle about something and I know that’s what they are trying to do. And believe it or not, somehow this lead to thoughts of Freud…

(Enter Id dressed as a kind of Grendel monster – in keeping with certain Norse references I have made today)

Id: Weakness!! Attack, attack, attack. Or – this could be even more fun – EXTERMINATE/DELETE.

Amy: Uh, I’m not so sure I want to do that…

(Enter Ego, who resembles a sci-fi looking, reptilian in black leathery stuff)

Ego: You know “these people” you talk of Amy, they seem to be trying to trick us.

Amy: Us? There is no us, you’re both part of me. (Looks at them both) Actually, I take that back. You’re part of my imagination.

Ego: Yes, of course. But what if your imagination is actually reality.

Id: What are you talking about?

Ego: I wouldn’t expect something as primitive as you to understand.

Amy: You do realise you’re criticising a part of yourself there Ego, right?

Id: None of this is the point! The point is people avoiding stuff.

Ego: I hate to say this, but Id’s right. And I don’t like the idea of people avoiding me. It seems so very rude and disrespectful and –

Id: WEAK.

Ego: Oh, all right. Weak.

Amy: No one’s perfect though.

(As if to prove this Id starts to try and gnaw his tail off)

Ego: (Seemingly without realising Ego is raining spit over Amy and Id during this line. Amy looks disgusted by this, while Id tries to catch it in his mouth.) Well, apart from this “Grendel thing” here, I think we are. So attack, I say. Attack.

(Ego begins to clean up a number of different weapon-like objects)

Amy: Oh dear, I think I need help. (Writing a letter) Dear Freud, you have succeeded in making me go absolutely crazy by creating psychoanalytical features as characters in my imagination. I don’t want to thank you for this, I just want to let you know that unless this situation improves, I will be sending you lots of angry mail.

(Cue “heroic” classical music as Superego enters)

Superego: Aha! I am Superego. The super of your Ego, the controller of your Id the…Oh dear, you’ve created persona’s for them, haven’t you?

Amy: I, er, it wasn’t my fault…

Superego: Never fear! Superego shall save you. (Superego catches a glimpse of its reflection on a shiny surface) Ooh, hell-o.

Amy: Oh dear.

Leave a Reply

